LIV golfers in the 2024 Masters field? Here's who was invited and how they qualified

LIV golfers in the 2024 Masters field? Here's who was invited and how they qualified

We saw this article in the Palm Beach Post ( and thought it quite interesting -- if you're interested, read on!  For additional photos, here is the link to the article.  This year we don't have tickets, but we know quite a few of our customers are planning to attend the tournament, and we can't wait to hear the details of their experience.  It's always a highlight of the year.

Jon Rahm and Bryson DeChambeau walk during the third round of the BMW Championship at Caves Valley Golf Club on August 28, 2021 in Owings Mills, Maryland. (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)

Bryson Dechambeau

Bryson DeChambeau won the U.S. Open in 2020. That victory earned him Masters invites through 2025.

Additionally, DeChambeau tied for fourth in last year's PGA Championship. The top four players, plus ties, receive a Masters invitation.

DeChambeau will be making his eighth Masters appearance. His best Masters finish came in 2016 when he tied for 21st.

Sergio Garcia

Spaniard Sergio Garcia won the 2017 Masters. The victory came with a big check ($1,980,000), a green jacket and a lifetime of tournament invitations.

Garcia won in a playoff against England's Justin Rose on that Sunday at Augusta National Golf Club. It was his first major championship in 74 tries.

This will be Garcia's 25th Masters Tournament.

Sep 29, 2023; Rome, ITA; Team Europe golfer Tyrrell Hatton tees off on the 17th hole during day one fourballs round for the 44th Ryder Cup golf competition at Marco Simone Golf and Country Club. Mandatory Credit: Adam Cairns-USA TODAY Sports

Tyrrell Hatton

England's Tyrrell Hatton met two criteria for a Masters invitation. He qualified for the 2023 Tour Championship and was among the top 50 on the final Official World Golf Ranking for 2023.

Hatton has seven previous Masters appearances. His best finish was a tie for 18th in 2021.

Dustin Johnson

Dustin Johnson won the COVID-delayed 2020 Masters in record-breaking fashion. After a runner-up finish in 2019, Johnson scorched Augusta National's greens in November of 2020 on his way to a scoring record of 20-under par and tournament invitations for life.

This will be Johnson's 14th Masters appearance.

Brooks Koepka

Apr 9, 2023; Augusta, Georgia, USA; Brooks Koepka plays a shot from a bunker second hole during the final round of The Masters golf tournament. Mandatory Credit: Michael Madrid-USA TODAY Network

Brooks Koepka qualified for the 2024 Masters in three ways. His 2023 PGA Championship win is accompanied by 5 years of Masters invites. Koepka was among the top 12 finishers in last year's Masters and one of the top 50 players on the last OWGR of 2023.

It will be Koepka's ninth Masters. His best finishes are ties for second place in 2019 and 2023.

Adrian Meronk

Adrian Meronk, of Poland, qualified for the 88th Masters Tournament for being among the top 50 players on the last OWGR of 2023.

This will be Meronk's second time playing in the Masters Tournament. He missed the cut in 2023.

Adrian Meronk celebrates a birdie putt on the 14th green during the final round of the 2024 Hero Dubai Desert Classic at Emirates Golf Club in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. (Photo: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)

Phil Mickelson

Three-time Masters champion Phil Mickelson will make his 31st tournament appearance in 2024. Mickelson's Masters victories came in 2004, 2006 and 2010. His wins ensure he will receive Masters invitations for life.

He also qualified by way of his 2021 PGA Championship win and being among the top 12 finishers in last year's Masters.

Joaquin Niemann

Joaquin Niemann, of Chile, spent the LIV offseason playing golf all over the world. His success, including an Australian Open win, was rewarded with a special Masters invitation. Special invitations are extended to international players not otherwise qualified, at the Masters Committee's discretion.

It will be Niemann's fifth appearance at the Masters Tournament. His best result came at the 2023 Masters, where he tied for 16th.

Joaquin Niemann of Team Torque during the final round of the LIV Golf Mayakoba tournament at El Chamaleon Golf Course. (Photo: Erich Schlegel-USA TODAY Sports)

Jon Rahm

Jon Rahm is the defending Masters champion. On what would have been fellow Spaniard and Masters champion Seve Ballesteros' birthday, Rahm bested Brooks Koepka, who let a four-shot lead slip away in the final round. Rahm's round of 69 put him 12-under par and four shots ahead of Koepka for the victory.

Not that he needed it, but Rahm qualified for the Masters in four additional ways:

  • 2021 U.S. Open win (5 years)
  • Among the top four in The Open Championship
  • Qualifier for the 2023 Tour Championship
  • Among the top 50 on the last OWGR in 2023

Rahm joined LIV in December, but his Masters invitations aren't in danger. He's also earned a lifetime of them with his 2023 Masters win.

This will be Rahm's eighth Masters appearance.

Patrick Reed

Patrick Reed gets lifetime invitations for winning the 2018 Masters. Reed also qualified for being among the top 12 finishers in last year's Masters.

He'll be playing in his 11th Masters Tournament.

Charl Schwartzel

Another Masters champion, another lifetime of invitations. South Africa's Charl Schwartzel earned his green jacket in 2011 when he birdied the final four holes to win by one stroke.

This will be Masters No. 15 for Schwartzel.

Cameron Smith hits his shot during the final round of LIV Golf Hong Kong at the Hong Kong Golf Club in Hong Kong Sunday, March 10, 2024. (Charles Laberge/LIV Golf via AP)

Cameron Smith

Cameron Smith met four criteria to qualify for his 2024 Masters invite:

This will be Smith's eighth Masters appearance. His best finish was a tie for second in 2020.

Bubba Watson

Two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson doesn't have any invitation worries. His victories in 2012 and 2014 set him up for life, too.

Watson will be making his 16th Masters start.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.